Connect with us


ECOWAS has deploy 40 experts to observe Senegal voting process



Senegalese legislative elections will be held on Sunday, July 31, 2022, to renew the National Assembly’s one hundred and sixty-five (165) members for another five years. Members of the National Assembly will be elected using a parallel voting system in fifty-four (54) electoral districts, divided as follows: forty-six (46) Senegalese departments and eight (8) Diaspora electoral divisions.

The Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS) will deploy a 40-member Election Observer Mission (EOM) to monitor the voting process in this West African regional organization member state with a population of approximately 16.7 million people, in accordance with its Supplementary Protocol on Democracy and Good Governance.

The Election Observer Mission (EOM) is led by H.E. Former Prime Minister of Burkina Faso and former President of the ECOWAS Commission, Kadré Désiré Ouédraogo.

In carrying out his mandate, the Head of the ECOWAS Electoral Mission will be assisted by a technical team that includes Dr. Remi Ajibewa, Director of Political Affairs, Francis Oké, Head of the Electoral Assistance Division, and several other technical staff from the Commission.

The ECOWAS Election Observer Mission’s role is to monitor all pre-electoral, electoral, and post-electoral activities to ensure that the voting process adheres to international best practices.

ECOWAS has deploy 40 experts to observe Senegal voting process

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *